Sorry For Abandoning You….Also, NYC is Hard

Hey….? So, I’ve been neglecting this blog for the past couple of months. I need to get back into the habit of writing. (Not only maintaining this, but working on my novel as well). So, what’s been going on with me? In short, I moved out to Brooklyn, New York after completing the NYU Summer Publishing Institute. I got a job working as a Bookseller for Barnes & Noble (Yay!), and I have been researching and applying to tons and tons of internships and jobs (*le sigh*). I’ve been on quite few interviews, have read quite a few manuscripts and written enough reader’s reports that I feel that I’ve gained enough experience in writing them to mention it on my cover letters…..BUT HAVE STILL NOT LANDED ONE DAMN INTERNSHIP! F@#$ is all I have to say about that.

It’s been depressing, no doubt about it, and I’ve had some rough days. But I feel like I’m in the right place, and I feel like if I stick it out long enough, I’ll land SOMETHING. (Right? Right?) If not, I’m off to grad school next fall. (YAY MORE DEBT! F@#$%^&) I’m definitely happier then if I’d stayed in Texas, and I have more opportunities here, even if it means holding out for a while and praying to Bookjobs.com, The Great and Heavenly God of All Jobs Literary, that something works out.

😛

Leave a Reply

