NYC, Week 2 – Am I a New Yorker?

Week 2 of SPI has ended, which means I’m 1/3 of the way through and have only one more week of the magazine section of the program. I felt like week 2 wan’t nearly as fast-paced as week 1. Week 2 was mainly devoted to workshop sessions with professionals from the magazine business, who reviewed our ideas/proposals and offered suggestions on what we should change/keep/adjust. So far, our group has done very, very well, and we’ve had no major criticisms as of yet. This coming Thursday we will do our final presentation in front of all the other group as well as a bunch of professionals/judges from the magazine section, so I’m guessing I’ve got ’till Tuesday before I enter major Freak Out mode. But honestly, I felt like this week has dragged a bit. I’ve known since the end of week 1 that the magazine business is not where my future lies, so I’m kind of biding my time ’till we start the book section of the program on week 4. 

The highlight of this week was definitely on Wednesday, We had a huge networking/cocktail event with all of the members of NYU SPI Class of 2014, some industry professionals, and alumni from past SPI groups. I had a lovely conversation with Lisa Rodgers from JABerwocky Literary Agency, who gave me some great information on what it’s like to be a literary agent. I’m beginning to think that book agency might be where my future career interests lie, rather then in editorial (although I haven’t ruled it out completely yet). Editorial is very, very competitive and oversaturated, plus I honestly don’t know if I’m cut out to be a future editor. I love books and I enjoy editing them, but I’m more interested in content rather than grammar, which (coincidentally) is what agents focus on. Content, that is. Plus, to me sorting through the slush pile sounds entertaining rather than mind-numbing. Dealing one-on-one with authors and publishers is something I could probably learn to handle with some practice. And of course, the idealistic dream that I may one day find the next bestseller is a high point, too 🙂 I’m not the kind of person who likes being the center of attention, and agents aren’t often glorified or well-known.

We shall see, my darlings For now, I need to be working on all my group stuff I’ve put off all weekend…… :O 

Leave a Reply

