Gotham

Well, I made it. I’m here. I’ve been in Gotham for a little less than 48 hours now. I just got back from BEA (Book Expo America), which, I have to say, was disappointing. I didn’t get the opportunity to volunteer unlike some other people in my SPI group. On top of that, I spend most of the 4-5 hours I was there waiting in line. Finally, the presentation I was most looking forward to seeing (which I waited in line for an hour for) FILLED UP BECAUSE THE IDIOTS RUNNING THE PACE DIDN’T EVEN BOTHER TO COUNT THE NUMBER OF CHAIRS THEY HAD. Seriously.

Anyway, rant over.

Besides BEA, NYC has been amazing. I feel fairly confident about the subway system (still learning the buses), I’ve gotten my student ID, am getting along great with my roommates, and have spent a good amount of time wandering and exploring. I’ve still got some homework to work on (gulp), but I’m getting excited about starting SPI bright and early Monday morning. So far, the few people I’ve met from SPI seem awesome.

Grocery prices, however….

1782572_10203301569534456_895703986983408110_o

One thought on “Gotham

  1. In my experience, big cons like that are clusterfucks and they don’t care about counting seats. Not getting into panels because of monstrous lines is kind of the expectation. The panels I did get into were good, but there were ENTIRELY too many people. BEA was much more manageable and enjoyable because it wasn’t quite so packed.

Leave a Reply

